October 22, 2018

Record guest levels at 2018 Travel Media Awards


326 guests gathered for the 4th annual Travel Media Awards, in association with the Malta Tourism Authority, held at the ME London Hotel on Wednesday 17 October, the largest annual gathering of UK travel media.

Just some of the winners on the night included the Daily Telegraph, Metro, Selling Travel, Sainsbury’s Magazine and The Sunday Times Travel Magazine, with the accolade of Consumer Travel writer of the Year going to Adrian Philips; a highlight of the evening was the presentation of a Special Contribution award to Lisa Minot, Travel Editor of The Sun in recognition of her career and role at News International.

Launched in 2015 the Travel Media Awards are leading UK national travel media awards recognising excellence and achievement within the fields of travel writing, broadcasting and photography; the awards are owned and operated under a joint venture agreement between Travega and APL Media.

The 2018 Travel Media Awards

Canapes and great bowl food for all

Winners and trophies await

Huge social media coverage sponsored by Travelbag

Tolene Van der Merwe, South African Tourism, Peter Vella, Malta Tourism Authority

with Lauren Williams, Finn and Partners

Travel Media Awards Co-Founder and Travega MD Giles Harper

with Anthea Turner former Wish You Were Here presenter

Giles Harper Travega MD starts the awards

Peter Vella Malta Tourism Authority with

Lisa Scott Travel Editor, The Metro

Matt Bell, Chief Commercial Officer Travelbag with

Helena Lang, Editor Sainsbury’s Magazine

 Peter Vella, Malta Tourism Authority with Consumer Travel Writer of the Year, Adrian Philips

Peter Vella, Malta Tourism Authority with

2018 Special Contribution Award winner, Lisa Minot, Travel Editor, The Sun

The Winners